Welcome to Speed Hillclimbing at Gurston Down

Seasonal greetings!


Championship & Challenge sponsorship confirmed for 2015!

The annual glitzy social highlight on the Gurston calendar, the Awards, Dinner & Dance Evening, went off superbly on Saturday November 15th and, despite numbers being slightly down on previous years, the mood was light, the food was tasty and the drink went where it usually does, so a good time was had!

BARC SW Centre chairman Doug Auld reflected on another good season at Gurston and in looking forward to more of the same in 2015 was able to cajole (on the spot!) long time sponsor Jonathan Gates into confirming his continued support for yet another season. Many thanks Jonathan!

The awards were handed out by Maureen Stone and Sheila McBeath, and as the ceremony reached the two major awards of the evening, Jonathan Gates handed back his cheque for winning the Top Ten Challenge, saying it ‘would be churlish to take a cheque from myself!’ And, equally generous, the 2015 Gurston Champion Simon Purcell handed back his cheque to go to the Gurston Marshals’ fund.

Formalities were rounded off with fun, games and the usual raffle before informal conversations broke out, no doubt mostly looking forward to another season’s hillclimb competition at Gurston Down!




Annual Awards Evening

A reminder to web site-viewing BARC (SW) members who want to come to the Club’s biggest social event of the year, the Annual Awards Evening on November 15th, to get your applications in without delay, if you’d be so kind.

Please click HERE for a downloadable booking form and menu choice check list. As time is getting short, please send an email to Dee Stapley on gurstontreasurer@aol.com stating your menu choices, and post your cheque to her at the address on the booking form just as soon as possible.

See you there!

‘Tyre warming’

Gurston Down Speed Hillclimb (BARC SW) will from the start of the 2015 season ban wheel spinning (‘tyre warming’) prior to the start line. This will apply across the board, NO class will be exempt.

Due to ongoing noise concerns from some local residents it has become apparent that it is the noise frequency from tyre warming and its repetitiveness through competition that is causing the most annoyance.

The committee of BARC SW feel it is better for us to make this difficult decision now, rather than have it imposed upon us by outside agencies.

© Copyright 2014 Gurston Down