Gurston Down Drivers School 2021 – Dates Available NOW

Gurston Down Drivers School 2021 – Dates Available NOW

Applications for places at our four planned Drivers School events in 2021.

Get your application in NOW and save £10.00. You can enter online HERE or fill the application form in and post it to us.

What Happens to the Camping Money?

As many of your know the camping fees collected at Gurston Down’s events are donated the village of Broad Chalke.

We collected £1375 in 2018 and £2015 in 2019. That’s £3390 collected to be donated to village organisations.

The following donations were made: £1500 to Chalke Valley Sports Centre; £1000 to Broad Chalke Village Hall and £340 Chalke Valley Football Club £340. The balance of £550 is yet to be distributed.

Joan Marie Hitchings

It is with great sadness that we have to inform you that Joan Hitchings, aged 88, has died on the 15th August 2020.

All at Gurston Down Speed Hill Climb offer our thoughts and most sincere condolences to her children, Robert, Philip, Janette, Melanie, Barbara and Frances and to her grand-children.

The family memorial service and cremation service are being held today.


These are the dates that BARC SW Centre plan to run events in the 2021 season. The exact decision on whether events are one day or two day meetings has yet to be agreed. Full details, including invited clubs, will be published here as soon as they are available.

Test Day – 7th March – BARC SW Members

March – Saturday 27th and Sunday 28th

April – Saturday 17th and Sunday 18th

May – Saturday 29th and Sunday 30th – expected to be the Motorsport UK British Hillclimb Championship Weekend. There will be an Intercub (formerly Nat B) meeting for BARC SW Centre members at this event.

June – Saturday 19th and Sunday 20th – The Tony Marsh Memorial Weekend

July – Saturday 17th and Sunday 18th

August – Saturday 28th and Sunday 29th

Note: Full details of the invited clubs for each event will be available soon.


Hill Climb School Days – 2021

There will be at least FOUR school days in 2021:

Tuesday 6th April

Tuesday 4th May

Tuesday 8th June

Tuesday 13th July (FULLY BOOKED)

There may be a school on Tuesday 3rd August – but this has not yet been confirmed


Statement from BARC South West Centre – Event 30th August 2020

August 2020 – Club Meeting

After an exhaustive Committee meeting on the 29th June 2020, BARC South West Centre  have to announce that we will not be running an event on 30th August 2020.

As many of you already know, as a consequence, there will be no hill climb events at Gurston Down Speed Hill Climb for the 2020 season. The Turbo Dynamics Gurston Down Hill Climb Championship and the Cavendish Ships Store BARC SW Top Ten Challenge have both been cancelled as has our Annual Awards Dinner in November.

The Committee heard from all of those involved in the running of the event, discussed the safety and financial implications, as well as views from each of the committee members.

The primary concern of the Committee was driver and stakeholder safety. The Committee, by majority vote, decided that the event could not be run taking into account all of the current guidance issued by Motorsport UK, BARC, HM Government and the other stakeholders.

Our Competition Secretary, Nick Revels will be in touch with all competitors over the next few weeks to arrange refunds. These refunds will be processed as quickly as possible.

BARC SW, 1st July 2020